HomeLinksRecommended ReadsNews and Blogs
Less than 1 Hour from EphrataMore than 1 Hour from Ephrata
Less than 1 Hour from EphrataMore than 1 Hour from Ephrata
Less than 1 Hour from EphrataMore than 1 Hour from Ephrata
Other Museums Less than 1 Hour from EphrataOther Museums More than 1 Hour from EphrataOther Pennsylvania Favorite Sites More than 2 Hours from EphrataOther Regional Favorite Sites More than 2 Hours from Ephrata
This is the "More than 1 Hour from Ephrata" page of the "Museums-A-Minute" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Museums-A-Minute  

Last Updated: Dec 12, 2016 URL: http://ephratapubliclibrary.libguides.com/museum Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

More than 1 Hour from Ephrata Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

York Heritage Rail Trail Museums

Hanover Junction and New Freedom are small museums located along the 21 mile long York Heritage Rail Trail.  The both display artifacts on railroad history.  Abraham Lincoln visited Hanover Junction on his way to and from the Gettysburg Address.  One of the oldest railroad tunnels in America is about 4.5 miles north of Hanover Junction on the trail.  New Freedom has a caboose that can be toured.  The two museums are approximately 10 mile apart. 

Location: Along PA 616 in the village of Hanover Junction and along Front St in New Freedom

Phone: 717-840-7440 (York County Parks office)

Web: http://yorkcountypa.gov/parks-recreation/the-parks/heritage-rail-trail-park.html

Drive Time From Ephrata: 1 hour 15 minutes

Reviews: None

 

Wings of Freedom Aviation Museum

This is a small aviation museum located near the former Willow Grove Naval Air Station.  It contains a few aircraft and many artifacts.

Location: Roughly at the intersection of Easton Rd (PA 611) and Hankin Rd in Horsham, PA.

Phone: 215-672-2277

Web: http://www.wingsoffreedommuseum.org/

Drive Time from Ephrata: 1 hour 15 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

Eastern Museum of Motor Racing

The Eastern Museum of Motor Racing chronicles auto racing in the eastern part of the country.  It has a large collection of open wheel, dirt track race cars, as well as displays on NASCAR, drag racing, and other forms of motor racing.

Location: 100 Baltimore Rd, York Springs, PA 17372

Phone:  717-528-8279

Web: http://www.emmr.org/

Drive Time From Ephrata: 1 hour 30 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

Appalachian Trail Museum

The Appalachian Trail Museum is unique museum devoted to a hiking trail.  The Museum, opened in 2010, is located in Pine Grove Furnace State Park, approximately two miles from the half way point of the Maine to Georgia trail.

Location: 1120 Pine Grove Rd, Gardners, PA 17324

Phone:  717-486-8126

Web: http://www.atmuseum.org/

Drive Time From Ephrata: 1 hour 30 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor

 

Historic Ships in Baltimore

Historic Ships in Baltimore features a collection of 4 historic ships that is unparalleled in the Mid-Atlantic region: The Civil War era sailing sloop USS Constellation, the World War II era submarine USS Torsk, the Lightship Chesapeake, and the Coast Guard cutter USCGC Taney.  In addition to the historic ships, there is also the screw pile Seven Foot Knoll Lighthouse.

Location: 301 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202

Phone: 410-539-1797

Web: http://www.historicships.org/

Drive Time From Ephrata: 1 hour 45 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

SS John W Brown

The SS John W Brown is one of two surviving operational Liberty-ships, the mass produced World War II cargo ships, still plying the waters today.  The Brown maintains limited hours, as well as a schedule of living history cruises.

Location: The Brown moors at Pier One located on South Clinton Street in Baltimore.

Phone: 410-558-0646

Web: http://www.liberty-ship.com/

Drive Time From Ephrata: 1 hour 45 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor

 

B&O Railroad Museum

The B&O Railroad Museum celebrates the first commercial railroad in the United States.  The museum features a fine collection rolling stock and is housed in the historic Mt Clare shops complex in Baltimore.  The Museum also offers train rides from its complex.

Location: 901 W Pratt St Baltimore, MD 21223

Phone: 410-752-2490

Web: http://www.borail.org

Drive Time From Ephrata: 1 hour 45 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

Glen L Martin Maryland Aviation Museum

The Martin Maryland Aviation Museum highlights the history of the Martin aircraft company and flight in Maryland.  The Museum's plane collection currently includes about a dozen aircraft.

Location: 701 Wilson Point Road, Hangar 5, Suite 531, Middle River, MD 21220 (At Martin State Airport)

Phone: 410-682-6122

Web: http://www.mdairmuseum.org/

Drive Time From Ephrata: 1 hour 45 minutes

Reviews: Yelp

 

Independence Seaport Museum

The Independence Seaport Museum is located at Penn's Landing in Philadelphia.  It features a collection of artifacts telling the story of maritime life in the Delaware River region.  The highlight of the Museum are the Spanish-American War era cruiser USS Olympia and the submarine USS Becuna.

Location: 211 S Columbus Blvd, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Phone: 215-413-8655

Web: http://www.phillyseaport.org/

Drive Time From Ephrata: 1 hour 45 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

USS New Jersey

The USS New Jersey served in and out of the Navy from War World II till the early 1990s when she was decommissioned for the final time.  She is the largest and most decorated battleship in American history.  She is 11 stories tall and nearly three football fields long.

Location: 62 Battleship Place, Camden, NJ 08103

Phone: 866-877-6262

Web: http://www.battleshipnewjersey.org

Drive Time From Ephrata: 1 hour 45 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

Air Victory Museum

The Air Victory Museum is a small collection of aircraft, mostly from the 1950s present.  The highlights include an F-14A Tomcat and a F-86L Sabre Dog.

Location: 68 Stacy Haines Rd, Lumberton, NJ 08048

Phone: 609-267-4488

Web: http://www.airvictorymuseum.org/

Drive Time From Ephrata: 2 hours

Reviews: None

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip