HomeLinksRecommended ReadsNews and Blogs
Less than 1 Hour from EphrataMore than 1 Hour from Ephrata
Less than 1 Hour from EphrataMore than 1 Hour from Ephrata
Less than 1 Hour from EphrataMore than 1 Hour from Ephrata
Other Museums Less than 1 Hour from EphrataOther Museums More than 1 Hour from EphrataOther Pennsylvania Favorite Sites More than 2 Hours from EphrataOther Regional Favorite Sites More than 2 Hours from Ephrata
This is the "Other Regional Favorite Sites More than 2 Hours from Ephrata" page of the "Museums-A-Minute" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Museums-A-Minute  

Last Updated: Dec 12, 2016 URL: http://ephratapubliclibrary.libguides.com/museum Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Other Regional Favorite Sites More than 2 Hours from Ephrata Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Udvar-Hazy Center

The Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center is part of the Smithsonian Institution's National Air and Space Museum.  The Udvar-Hazy Center hosts artifacts that are too large for the National Mall facility in Washington, DC, as well as many historic aircraft that would otherwise be in storage .  It is the home of the Enola Gay, Space Shuttle DIscovery, a Concord jet, and a SR-71 Blackbird.

Location: 14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway Chantilly, VA 20151

Phone: 703-572-4118

Web: http://airandspace.si.edu/visit/udvar-hazy-center/

Distance from Ephrata: 3 hours

Reviews: TripAdvisior - Yelp

 

National Museum of the United States Navy

This museum is devoted to the history of America's source of seapower.  The Museum, located at the Washington Navy Yard, also includes the destroyer USS Barry. 

Location: 805 Kidder Breese St. SE, Washington, DC 20374

Phone: 202-433-6897 

Web: http://www.history.navy.mil/branches/org8-1.htm

Drive Time From Ephrata: 3 hours

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

National Museum of the United States Marine Corps

The USMC Museum is an outstanding and modern museum that tells the story of some of America's toughest soldiers.  It uses artifacts and technology to explain the importance of the Leathernecks in military history.

Location: 18900 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Triangle, VA 22134

Phone: 877-635-1775

Web: http://www.usmcmuseum.org

Drive Time From Ephrata: 3 hours 30 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

FDR National Historic Site

Franklin Roosevelt's Hyde Park home, Springwood, has been preserved as a national historic site.  The property is also the site of the FDR presidential library and the graves of both President and Eleanor Roosevelt. 

Location: 4097 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538

Phone: 800-FDR-VISIT

Web: http://www.nps.gov/hofr/index.htm

Drive Time From Ephrata: 4 hours 15 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

West Point Museum

The West Point Museum is the oldest military museum in the United States.  It has an extensive collection of weapons from both American and world history, as well as the history of the United States Military Academy.  It also bills itself as the largest public collection of militaria in the western hemishpere,

Location: 2110 New South Post RdWest PointNY

Phone: 845-938-3590

Web: http://www.usma.edu/museum

Drive Time From Ephrata:

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

USS Slater

The USS Slater is one of two destroyer escorts on display in the United States and the only one still afloat.

Location: Broadway and Quail Streets, Albany, NY 12202

Phone: 518-431-1943

Web: http://www.usslater.org

Drive Time From Ephrata: 5 hours

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

Baseball Hall of Fame

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is a shrine to the greats of America's Pasttime.  It includes both the Hall itself and a fantastic museum the has artifacts and treasures from all over the country.

Location: 25 Main St, Cooperstown, NY 13326

Phone: 888-HALL-OF-FAME

Web: http://www.baseballhall.org

Drive Time From Ephrata: 5 hours

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

New England Air Museum

The New England Air Museum houses a fine collection of aircraft in three buildings and an outdoor display area.  They have a restored B-29A Superfortress and a large VS-44 four engine flying boat. 

Location: 36 Perimeter Rd,Windsor Locks, CT 06096

Phone: 860-623-3305

Web: http://www.neam.org

Drive Time From Ephrata: 5 hours 30 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

Battleship Cove

Battleship Cove is a collection of major historic warships and is one of the largest collections of historic vessels in the world.  It's star attraction is the battleship USS Massachusetts and also includes a destroyer, missile corvette, submarine, and two PT boats.

Location: 5 Water St, Fall River, MA 02721

Phone: 800-533-3194

Web: http://www.battleshipcove.com

Drive Time From Ephrata: 6 hours 30 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

Buffalo and Erie County Naval and Military Park

The Naval and Military Park includes both a small indoor museum housed in 2 buildings, a small collection of outdoor vehicles and aircraft, and several historic ships. It is the home of the light cruiser USS LIttle Rock, destroyer USS The Sulivans, submarine USS Croaker, and a Trumpy fast patrol boat.

Location: 1 Naval Park Cove, Buffalo, NY 14202

Phone: 716-847-1773

Web: http://www.buffalonavalpark.org

Drive Time From Ephrata: 6 hours 30 minutes

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 

Old Fort Niagara

Old Fort Niagara is one of the oldest military fortifications in the United States.  The fort saw action during both the French and Indian War and during the War of 1812.   

Location: 4 Scott Ave, Youngstown, NY 14174

Phone:  716-745-7611

Web: http://www.oldfortniagara.org

Drive Time From Ephrata: 7 hours

Reviews: TripAdvisor - Yelp

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip